The National Book Awards are giving the readers the vote. Organizers of the prestigious literary prize are asking the public to choose the best fiction winner in the awards’ 60-year history.
The six finalists, announced Monday by the National Book Foundation, are:

  • “The Stories of John Cheever”
  • Ralph Ellison’s “Invisible Man”
  • William Faulkner’s “Collected Stories”
  • “The Complete Stories” of Flannery O’Connor
  • Thomas Pynchon’s “Gravity Rainbow”
  • “The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty”

Starting Monday, through Oct. 21, votes can be cast through the Web site http://www.nbafictionpoll.org. The winner will be announced Nov. 18.